Uncategorized

In Honor of Women’s Day!

In honor of Women’s Day, I took a few moments to think about what being a woman means to me. I was able to sum it up in a quote that I found by Toni Morrison.

“You are the best thing.” ~ Toni Morrison

There is so much to be said about being a woman of color, a black woman. Sometimes we, well I, feel that the world is against me. I  have felt the pressure of institutionalized racism, sexism, ageism, and more. I have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with these things as I have gone through the various development stages and situations, leading to the woman I am today.

Although us black women have endured so much from within our own race and outside, I admire our strength. I admire that we dominate our adversity and make it bow to us. I admire that we look inside to get deeper meaning of who we are and what we have to contribute to our communities and to the world. BLACK GIRLS ROCK. We are courageous, intelligent, beautiful , and kind.

To me being a black woman means thinking outside of myself to take care of those around me without looking for anything in return. It means praying for a better world for future black women and assisting in creating opportunities for them to succeed now. It means looking myself in the mirror and deciding that only I can dictate what I will accomplish today.

When I decided to go get my master’s, I had a few barriers against me, but I DECIDED, that I would have a different life. I decided that I would draw upon the strength that God gave me to get it done. I am nearly 9 months away from my finish line (Praise God).

What I love most is that we possess so much power, and that when we decide to use our power, we are lethal. We get things done and we look out for one another to get things done.

I know for a fact that I am the result of the prayers of slaves, fighters in the civil rights movement, and most importantly, Gods grace and mercy.  I don’t know exactly where is came from but black women are just able to endure and I am forever proud of us.

Tiffany

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

