Uncategorized

Final Project Thoughts…

So as I have mentioned before in a previous post, I am a graduate student working towards a master’s degree in Higher Education and Student Affairs. If everything goes well, I will be done in the fall semester of 2017. I am shooting to be done next summer though, hopefully. I started last year and feel that I could contribute a lot to my current field in Human Service and the field of Higher Education. The other day when I was doing a homework assignment for my Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion course, I thought about my  thesis.  For whatever reason I thought about foster youth being that I work for a government child welfare agency.  I specifically thought about the connection between child welfare and higher education. I thought about how we help connect foster youth to higher education and how we keep them connected until commencement or graduation.

From an ethical perspective, I must remember that both fields require me to “do no harm”. This means taking the time out to acknowledge that foster youth have been through unimaginable circumstances and that each of those experiences are important when assessing how colleges and universities should serve this population. My goal is to make sure this population is being served by people that can 1. Acknowledge that trauma has occurred in the lives of these students and 2. Proceed in a way that allows students to be served through trauma lenses.

I think the direction I want to go in is to look at how colleges and universities operate as organizations in serving special populations, or in this case foster youth. While I know there is a lot of good that can come out of this, I have to come to a place where I can understand that these students don’t have traditional lives; there should be some flexibility to knowledge this difference when being compared to other populations.

I won’t be getting started on this until sometimes next year but I am so excited y’all. I even thought about going all the way and getting my Ph. D.  I’m gonna continue to pray about it  but I have so much peace about my thesis for now. I got confirmation from two of my professors that there is much research to be done in this field; I wish y’all could have seen my face. Was this meant to be? Is this meant to be?

Are any of you in school? What are you studying??

P.S. – In whatever you choose to do professionally, make sure you do no harm.

Tiffany

 

Leave a Reply

