FAITH, Life

GOD ANSWERS OUR PRAYERS (Personal time in the word.)

James 1: 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.

For the past month and a half I’ve been more diligent about either waking up earlier in the morning or taking time out in the evening to go before God. I pray over a lot of things including my family, friends, community, leaders, enemies and myself in my natural language and in the spirit/tongues.  One thing that I ask for when I pray is wisdom and guidance. I pray that I yearn to ask God for direction in every aspect of my life to get the best possible outcome. I know as a believer the game is already rigged. I know that I have victory and that everything the enemy meant for my demise will put me in a position to crush his head and anyone else’s who operate under his authority or influence.

Last night I got into my word seeking to find something that could assist me in with a couple scenarios that I have experienced in my life. During my study I came across Proverbs chapter 26:24-26 within the New Living Translation text. The scripture says;

“Whoever hates disguises himself with his lips and harbors deceit in his heart; when he speaks graciously, believe him not, for there are seven abominations in his heart; though his hatred be covered with deception, his wickedness will be exposed in the assembly.”

I was a bit taken back by this scripture. It was thick in essence . I needed some back text to get the full picture of where this could be going so I took the liberty of reading the full text of Proverbs chapter 26 in the New Living Translation Bible. The Chapter starting at verse one states;

Proverbs 26New Living Translation (NLT)

26 Honor is no more associated with fools
    than snow with summer or rain with harvest.

Like a fluttering sparrow or a darting swallow,
    an undeserved curse will not land on its intended victim.

Guide a horse with a whip, a donkey with a bridle,
    and a fool with a rod to his back!

Don’t answer the foolish arguments of fools,
    or you will become as foolish as they are.

Be sure to answer the foolish arguments of fools,
    or they will become wise in their own estimation.

Trusting a fool to convey a message
    is like cutting off one’s feet or drinking poison!

A proverb in the mouth of a fool
    is as useless as a paralyzed leg.

Honoring a fool
    is as foolish as tying a stone to a slingshot.

A proverb in the mouth of a fool
    is like a thorny branch brandished by a drunk.

10 An employer who hires a fool or a bystander
    is like an archer who shoots at random.

11 As a dog returns to its vomit,
    so a fool repeats his foolishness.

12 There is more hope for fools
    than for people who think they are wise.

13 The lazy person claims, “There’s a lion on the road!
    Yes, I’m sure there’s a lion out there!”

14 As a door swings back and forth on its hinges,
    so the lazy person turns over in bed.

15 Lazy people take food in their hand
    but don’t even lift it to their mouth.

16 Lazy people consider themselves smarter
    than seven wise counselors.

17 Interfering in someone else’s argument
    is as foolish as yanking a dog’s ears.

18 Just as damaging
    as a madman shooting a deadly weapon
19 is someone who lies to a friend
    and then says, “I was only joking.”

20 Fire goes out without wood,
    and quarrels disappear when gossip stops.

21 A quarrelsome person starts fights
    as easily as hot embers light charcoal or fire lights wood.

22 Rumors are dainty morsels
    that sink deep into one’s heart.

23 Smooth[a] words may hide a wicked heart,
    just as a pretty glaze covers a clay pot.

24 People may cover their hatred with pleasant words,
    but they’re deceiving you.
25 They pretend to be kind, but don’t believe them.
    Their hearts are full of many evils.[b]
26 While their hatred may be concealed by trickery,
    their wrongdoing will be exposed in public.

27 If you set a trap for others,
    you will get caught in it yourself.
If you roll a boulder down on others,
    it will crush you instead.

28 A lying tongue hates its victims,
    and flattering words cause ruin.”

Proverbs Chapter 26 provided by: https://www.biblegateway.com

After reading the whole chapter I totally understood the context of this message. This message in essence describes a fool and how to address one. Again this message was very deep and it took me a minute to work out the kinks in my natural thought process to fully understand the context of this message. While reading I noticed what I thought were two conflicting messages. Verses 4 and 5 it seemed that in one verse it was saying don’t answer the foolish argument of a fool but then it says to answer so the fool won’t think that they are correct in their foolish thought. Confused, but I went on to look at some commentary regarding these two verses. Importantly,  I found that these two verses actually compliment one another instead of contradicting one another.

“Proverbs 26:4 tells us not to answer a fool according to his folly lest we be like him. In this situation, to answer the person’s silly argument or question, you would be descending to his level and end up in a pointless quarrel. The person asking this type of question does not want to be taught. Instead, he is spiritually immature and just wants to argue his point.”

&

“Proverbs 26:5 tells us that under another set of circumstances we should answer the silly or immature person “according to his folly,” responding to his line of reasoning. The answer we give should expose the weakness of his thinking. His thinking needs to be challenged, for the person’s sake, “lest he be wise in his own eyes.”

Quotes provided by:

Mike Hanisko https://lifehopeandtruth.com/relationships/communication/proverbs-26/

These two scriptures let you know when it is appropriate to answer a fool and how to answer , which is very important.  A Christian should be walk in love regardless of the situation at hand and be careful to not give into the “craftiness” of foolish talk. In essence, walk in a position of love but don’t be naïve . A great illustration for these two verses is to consider the story in Luke when Jesus was confronted by the Pharisees in regards to his authority. If you are familiar with the story, the Pharisees were trying to get Jesus “caught up” if you will to be killed. Jesus however did not give into their trap, instead Jesus answered  their question by asking a question regarding their own position.

The way Jesus answered the Pharisees is important in the context of answering fools and avoiding a situation meant to be of your demise. Consider his answer in it’s entirety. Once he gave the answer nothing else could be said.

Anther point that the website mentioned was that you shouldn’t be tempted to totally ignore a fool. I believe the author had good intention in providing this statement but sometimes I think even a right  answer said  to a certain type of person could cause it’s on issues. I will agree to disagree on that point but overall the commentary was rich.

I  am in awe of how I came across this message and how comforted I felt after reading it. It is so important to seek Gods direction in regards to your life. It is also important to converse with wise counsel and not people who have a worldly view on life. I felt so connected to God last night as I was lead from scriptures and related commentary.

Sometimes when I hear people say that the bible is an oppressive tool or other derogatory comments that you often hear; or even people saying bad things about Jesus and the Christian faith, I feel bad for them. I wish for every person to feel what I felt last night. I know in my heart that I experienced a visitation from heavenly father. I literally felt that I was sitting on the couch talking to my dad. That’s exactly how intimate it was.

In closing remember that wisdom is the principle thing as stated in Proverbs 4:7. God is so good and all he wants for us is to have a good life.  He is so willing to tell you what you need to do and the bible provides that direction. The more you are willing to read his word and submit to it I believe the more he will draw near. Also remember that God is a gentleman. He will not bombard you with his presence unwantedly. You have to seek him and he will answer; even tell you where to find the answer!

Be wise and give the enemy no room to take you out of love and faith. The word is alive and it works without reproach. Stand firm.

Tiffany

Leave a Reply

