Life

Consider Your Words

Death and life are in the power of the tongue,
And those who love it will eat its fruit. Psalm 18:21

 

Lately I’ve been reconditioning myself. It has been a process but I take it one day at a time. One random day, I decided to look up what it meant to be a contentious woman. I think because I am in a healthy and serious relationship with someone, I thought it would be worth looking into.  One thing that I notice continuously when I looked at scriptures pertaining to this particular subject was the attitude and the patterns of this woman. While the bible does not  give specific instances or verbiage that the woman uses, it does distinctively mention that this woman isn’t pleasant .

In a more broader sense, outside of romantic relationships I wanted to explore the speaking patterns of a “contentious woman” or any person in general. I learned at a very young age that words have a creative nature. Our whole universe was created with the words that God spoke into utter darkness. I believe because we are created in the image of God that we also possess that same authority to speak things into existence, good and bad.

I’ve tried to be careful of how I address situations or people, especially if it’s not pleasant.  The bible says  in Psalm 18:21 that Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat it’s fruit. This statement alone speaks volumes. Essentially it’s the same as the law of seed, sowing and harvest. If you plant bad seeds with your words you will reap the product of those words.

Imagine the words you use everyday to describe your life, yourself or other people. I remember when I made a statement in front of my uncle years ago as I described the way I felt about something. His response to me was to consider my words and explained to me what I said (what a great uncle he is!). That always stuck with me. Now that I am older and I have experienced “life” I feel that I can elaborate on the concept of watching your mouth to save you from yourself.

I think when I was younger I was a little more sharp tongued, raw, the tell it like it is and not how it should be said type (thank GOD for deliverance!). In my mind if it needed to be said it would be. Nothing about me was humble when it came to me expressing my opinion, especially if you asked me what I thought about something.

Now I can see the importance of speaking positively or not saying anything at all. Sometimes when I’m on Facebook and I see people speaking negatively about their own families, friends, relationships, others peoples business, their own lives, jobs and the like I think of the lives they will live in the future. I have been guilty of this too, again everyday is a process. What I have learned over the years is that the creative nature of my words can hinder me from being prosperous and at some point I will have to give an account to empty words (Matthew 12:36). I use to be notorious for telling people to “go to hell” and if I didn’t say it, I definitely thought it (again growth.com). Besides saying a bunch of useless stuff whether other people agree or not does not bring prosperity. Saying Detroit is a hell whole, the infamous I’m going to be single forever, I hate my job, life, him her, I’m broke or whatever does not change a situation for the better. As a matter of fact, by speaking negatively you only open the door for the enemy to wreak-havoc in your own life.

The book of proverbs or the book of wisdom says a lot about talking to much.

Proverbs 30:32 – If thou hast done foolishly in lifting up thyself, or if thou hast thought evil, [lay] thine hand upon thy mouth.

Proverbs 15:1-33 – A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger.   (Read More…)

Proverbs 12:18 – There is that speaketh like the piercings of a sword: but the tongue of the wise [is] health.

Proverbs 18:21 – Death and life [are] in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

Proverbs 29:20 – Seest thou a man [that is] hasty in his words? [there is] more hope of a fool than of him.

Proverbs 18:2 – A fool hath no delight in understanding, but that his heart may discover itself.

Proverbs 21:23 – Whoso keepeth his mouth and his tongue keepeth his soul from troubles

Proverbs 10:19 – In the multitude of words there wanteth not sin: but he that refraineth his lips [is] wise.

Proverbs 17:28 – Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: [and] he that shutteth his lips [is esteemed] a man of understanding.

When you read each scripture it all says the same thing. Talking too much gets you into trouble or it brings some type of strife and it make you look like a fool.. I know during a few trying situations in my life I wanted to argue to set the record straight, call some people to the floor, and use a whole lot of choice words. In my spirit though I always felt the need to say nothing. I think those times were the most pivotal in regards to the outcome.  God cannot move in a place where you are not speaking his word and where is confusion and contentiousness.  He created his word so he is moved by his word.

As I grow more into my uniqueness as a woman of God I try to be more mindful of what I say. Speaking life into yourself and others is so important. You literally cannot give place to the enemy in anyway. In James 3:10 it says  “And so blessing and cursing come pouring out of the same mouth. Surely, my brothers and sisters, this is not right!” So at all times we must be mindful. You can’t be holier than thou one minute and gossiping the next minute. It just doesn’t work like that in the laws of prosperity when it comes to reaping a good fruit.

To bring this full circle and to express my thoughts on being contentious I also want to add that their is a time for everything. At times, I do think it is right to defend your reputation or to stand up for what you believe in. By no means am I saying lay on the floor and allow others to throw salt on you. However, there is a time and place for that. There is also a more tactful way to address situation of any capacity. I believe in following your spirit. There have been times when it was the right time to openly address something and at other times, I was told to hush. Those were usually the times when God was setting my table… So I leave you all with the wise words of my uncle, “consider your words”.

May your words produce great fruit and prosperity!

Tiffany

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

