Parenting, Uncategorized

Bonding Through Reading

For as long as I can remember I have always loved books. From simple children’s stories to encyclopedia’s, I have read them all.  I remember being a kid and watching my mom and dad read in their spare time. I also remember seeing my grandmother, aunts, and cousin reading during my weekend visits. It’s probably safe to say that I come from a family that values reading.

This is something that I took with me and value myself now that I am a parent. Each night before bed I always make sure I take the time out to read to my daughter Lauren. We read two books that I usually  allow her to pick. These books are age appropriate and full of color. My daughter particularly likes books that allows me to reference things that are in our immediate space or even on her. I enjoy expressing different emotions in my voice or doing my best Doc McStuffins impersonation as I read to her. Some books make her laugh, while others bring out her quiet side and even put her to sleep.

One thing that I have noticed as Lauren has gotten older is that she is starting to prefer me reading to her over watching the television (YAY!), and her attention span is longer. I catch her from time to time in her room looking through her books and even reading it herself (gibberish though). I absolutely love when she randomly brings me a book while I’m in the middle of cleaning up. It’s just something about when she’s sitting on my lap and I have my arms around her. It’s a beautiful feeling and she gets a kick out of it too!

I think it’s extremely important  for kids to read or to be read too. The younger you start the better!! Outside of building a good bond with me I know Lauren is also building a great habit. When she is older I want her to have a love for books like her mommy :). I also want her to to receive all those great benefits from reading such as having a larger vocabulary , better logical thinking skills,good communication skills, and a lively imagination like a kid should have. It warms my heart that we can engage in such a peaceful activity that brings so many benefits.

Kids who read become adults who think!

Leave a Reply

